About us

The Cochrane Tobacco Addiction Group (TAG) have our editorial base in the Nuffield Department of Primary Care Health Sciences at the University of Oxford. We were established in 1996 to prepare and maintain systematic reviews of interventions relevant to tobacco control. The membership and target audience for TAG's reviews include policy makers, health care professionals and consumers

The co-ordinating editor for the group is Professor Paul Aveyard, Professor of Behavioural Medicine, University of Oxford. 

Our group Editors are:

Professor Robert West (Tobacco specialist & strategic editor), Professor of Health Psychology, Department of Epidemiology & Public Health, University College London

Professor Tim Coleman (Tobacco specialist editor), Professor of Primary Care, Faculty of Medicine & Health Sciences, University of Nottingham

Professor Nancy Rigotti (Tobacco specialist editor), Professor, Medicine, Harvard Medical School

Dr Natalie Walker (Tobacco specialist editor), Faculty of Medical and Health Sciences, University of Auckland

Dr Jamie-Hartmann-Boyce (Tobacco & methodological specialist editor), Nuffield Department of Primary Care Health Sciences, University of Oxford

Professor Jamie Brown (Tobacco specialist editor), Professor of Behavioural Science, University College London

Dr Rachna Begh (Tobacco specialist editor), Nuffield Department of Primary Care Health Sciences, University of Oxford

Dr Debbie Robson (Tobacco/e-cigarettes specialist editor),  Institute of Psychiatry, Psychology & Neuroscience, King's College London

Professor Rafael Perera (Statistical editor), Nuffield Department of Primary Care Health Sciences, University of Oxford

Dr Nicola Lindson and Dr Jon Livingstone-Banks share the roles of Managing Editor (click 'contact us' for our contact details). Lindsay Stead (one day a month) is our Trial Search Co-ordinator. Statistical support is provided by Dr Thomas Fanshawe.

The success of the group is based on the commitment and enthusiasm of more than 400 review authors who contribute to the preparation and updating of reviews. We have more than 90 published reviews and further protocols in progress. We would also like to acknowledge the valuable contribution of our peer referees who provide pre-publication review of all protocols and reviews.


The Cochrane Tobacco Addiction Group is part of Cochrane, an independent, international not-for-profit consortium dedicated to providing up-to-date, accurate information about the effects of health care. The National Institute for Health Research (NIHR) is the largest funder of the Cochrane Tobacco Addiction Group and provides core funding for the Editorial Base. We also receive project specific funding from Cancer Research UK (CRUK) and the British Heart Foundation (BHF).

NIHR colour logo

Orphan reviews

As well as reviews of the evidence on interventions to prevent and treat tobacco addiction, the Tobacco Addiction Review Group also provide support for authors working on reviews that do not sit within the remit of other existing Cochrane Review Groups. To date, this includes reviews on interventions for food allergies, transgender health and a review of antifibrinolytic therapy to reduce haemoptysis from any cause.

Kate Cahill - Chris Silagy Prize

Our own Kate Cahill (former Managing Editor) won the Chris Silagy Prize in 2009 for having made an extraordinary contribution to the work of Cochrane, which exceeded the expectations of her employment. Kate was identified by her peers as consistently contributing to a spirit of collaboration.